Disney’s Island in the Bahamas: Castaway Cay


If you missed my first Disney Dream post, you can find it here. There I talk about embarking on Disney’s newest cruise ship.

On Thursday morning we docked at Castaway Cay, Disney’s own private island in the Bahamas. Here’s the view we saw when we woke up and stepped out on our verandah.

We couldn’t go ashore until 9:00 Thursday morning, so we ordered breakfast and had a wonderful cup of coffee.

Once on Castaway Cay, it really was paradise. Although I didn’t know the exact temperature, it had to be at least 80 degrees.

There were so many fun activities to partake in on Castaway Cay from bike riding and building sand castles to playing water games or simply relaxing.

They also fed us lunch on the island and because we’re a vegan family, our head server ordered a vegan lunch for us. We had Caribbean sautéed vegetables and tofu — delicious!

One of the great things about traveling on a press junket during the Christening of the Disney Dream is that there weren’t a lot of people on the island, but I can imagine how crowded it can become when the Dream will be at full capacity. The maiden voyage is next week.

One of the greatest things about going on the Disney Dream cruise was being with my entire family. We had a wonderful time!

Check out my blog tomorrow to discover why my husband and I felt extremely comfortable leaving our daughters at the Oceaneer’s Club and going to have fun of our own.

*Note: I want to thank my husband for taking photos during the trip. He knows me too well. If left up to me, we’d come back with 10 photos, one with my thumb in it.

Leave a Reply

